The Shawshank Redemption (1994)

5 stars

Crime, Drama

This was actually the first time I had seen this, and surprisingly (or not, considering I’m younger than the film) I hadn’t heard too much about what the film is about despite being on so many “Films You Have To See!” lists. So, I went in with absolutely no expectations.

The film starts with Andy Desfresne (Tim Robbins) being sentenced to two life sentences for a crime he says he didn’t commit. He gets sent to Shawshank, where he meets Red (Morgan Freeman) and settles into his new life.

I’ve never been in prison and I’m not American so I can’t comment on the truth of the events that take place but I have seen stats and personal accounts etc. that make me believe that The Shawshank Redemption comes much closer to what actually happens than other contemporary media texts. Orange is the New Black comes to mind and where OitNB plays off these kind of events quite often with humour, Shawshank really explores the sadness of it. The lack of support for people who aren’t able to integrate back into society after lengthy sentences, or the misuse of power by people that are basically the face of justice. These topics come up and yet they’re handled in such a way that it doesn’t feel like it’s a) pushing an agenda or b) too emotionally heavy for the audience.

Despite all of this, the filmmakers have managed to provide moments of genuine happiness, and hope and goodness. And this is really the reason why this film is so good, and why it’s in all of those lists. It’s managed to depict a well-rounded “human experience” that has all of the highs and lows in it, through the lens of a prison. I’m not going to go into further detail, just so I don’t spoil it for anyone else that hasn’t watched it but it’s great how the events are relatable even if you don’t share anything with the characters.

I really, really enjoyed this film, and cried several times through the last 30 mins. Highly recommend to anybody that hasn’t seen it yet.

Watch it: at night, I think it gives further weight to the more poignant scenes.

 

Leave a comment